Bringing Back Country

You will find that I rarely write about a country album.  Actually, I think I’ve reviewed three or four in my lifetime, so I’m no pro, but I would assume that I share the opinions of millions of ‘sorta country fans’!  Second time ’round is Jason Paulson from the smalltown of Waconia, Minnesota, with a population of 10,000 and about a half hour west of the Twin Cities.  Hopefully everyone in that town knows that there’s a bit of a gem hiding out there.

I know most of you will agree that commercial country music, as well as commercial anything-music, has taken a steep dive into the dirt.  Though, the country side of things seems more disappointing somehow.  Old country greats like Johnny Cash, Buck Owens, and Merle Haggard had something magical about them… Why has there been such a drastic, negative change to follow?  I won’t mention all of the obvious and sad reasons.

Well, if you’re looking for a record to take you back a bit, in the right direction, I would highly suggest ‘American Dream’ by Jason Paulson & Friends.  Exceptional and talented, yet simple and no where near over-produced, you’ll fall in love by the time ‘Southbound Train’ gets started.  Unfortunately, my lack of country/southern rock knowledge disallows me from further trying to sell this record to you… Though, the fact that I actually took the time to review it should speak louder than words!

LoveSound Rating – 6/10

Favorite Tracks  – ‘Southbound Train’ & ‘Lonesome Song’

Jason Paulson – http://www.myspace.com/jasonpaulsonmusic

One Response to “Bringing Back Country”

  1. Cindy G Says:

    I LOVE IT! I saw them at a small venue in Mpls. and bought the CD immediately.
    I had the pleasure of speaking with Jason & his wife, very down to earth, freindly people and a fantastic talent!

Leave a Reply

