Uhhh…….. (that means speechless).

Well, I’ve heard of this project Snailhouse before.  I’ve been asked and told to give them a listen, then again, I’m asked and told to listen to hundreds of albums any given month.  The only question I ask myself now, having heard Mike Feuerstack’s (the man behind the magic) new album ‘Sentimental Gentleman’ is, ‘What have I been missing?’.

In the opening moments of the album I thought I was going to hear another Mogwai-ish/Sigur Ros-inspired record, but it immediately changes course.

This man’s songwriting and guitar-writing capabilities blow my mind.  I’m generally very unenthusiastic about lyrics these days, it seems to be a lost art… But when I heard Mike mention that a couple of historical figures would be driving TransAms if they were alive today, I was hooked (you’ll have to listen to know what I’m talking about).

Basically, this is one of the BEST albums that I’ve heard in a very, very long while.  Come to find out, Arcade Fire’s drummer Jeremy Gara mixed Snailhouse’s last record, and was even a former member.. I don’t think Arcade Fire has anything on Snailhouse, except, of course, the mass-appeal thing.  I honestly don’t think it will be long until Snailhouse becomes more of a household name, though.

I apologize to those of you that said ‘Listen to Snailhouse, listen to Snailhouse’ and I didn’t cooperate.  Let’s all learn from my mistakes and regrets.  Pick up or download this album now, seriously, it even has a cool cover.

Kudos to Mike Feuerstack and the Snailhouse team!

And, check out the video for the title track and single ‘Sentimental Gentleman’:

http://vimeo.com/13378099

*NOMINEE FOR LOVESOUND ALBUM OF THE YEAR

LoveSound Rating – 9/10

Favorite Tracks – ‘Apple’ & ‘Sentimental Gentleman’

Snailhouse – http://snailhousemusic.com

Leave a Reply

