BOMTI’m going to start this short review off with a bold statement:

I will be shocked if I come across an EP, in the year 2015, that is better than Escape EP by Bloodhounds On My Trail.

This record is legit!  And it’s their debut EP!

Bloodhounds On My Trail are Johnny Green (guitar, vocals), Chris Donaldson (guitar), Jonny O’Hara (bass) and Nik Donaldson (drums) and they hail from Melbourne, Australia.

Why is there so much good music coming out of Australia right now???  Australia’s shoegaze and indie rock scene, to me, is the equivalent of the Iceland ambient music explosion of the early 2000’s.  Bloodhounds On My Trail just continue proving my theory.

Everything from the lyrics to the mixing is spot-on on Escape EP.  Within a minute of pressing play, my eyes were closed, and I was far, far away.  I don’t know if I can as far as to say that the guitar work was ‘brilliant’, but obviously a major key component in the shoegaze genre is the guitar work.  Well, it is brilliant for what it is on this EP.

Well done guys.  Keep it coming!

*NOMINEE FOR LOVESOUND EP OF THE YEAR

LoveSound Rating – 9/10

Favorite Tracks – ‘Jolly’ & ‘Silence, It’s Golden’

Bloodhounds On My Trail – https://bloodhoundsonmytrail.bandcamp.com/

Leave a Reply

